Past Exhibition

State of Transition: Contemporary Paintings from Shanghai Revisited

15 Aug - 21 Sep  |  2006
Leng Hong Liu JianWang Dalin
Alisan Fine Arts was the first professional gallery to stage an exhibition of contemporary Chinese art in Hong Kong in 1987. The exhibition “State of Transition, Contemporary Painting from Shanghai” featuring 14 Shanghai artists was presented at the Hong Kong Arts Centre. Among these artists, Liu Jian was then only 26 while Chen Jialing, the oldest was 50. We are happy to announce that starting from August 15 until September 30, we will show recent works in both ink and oil of ten artists who have remained with the gallery. Their works reflect that their evolution is a gradual one, it is not affected by current fashion in the art world. Starting with canvas works by Liu Jian and Wang Dalin, we will continue with Chinese ink paintings by Han Tianheng, Mao Guolun, Zhang Jianjun, landscape paintings by Leng Hong, canvas works by Li Shan, Zhang Jiemin, and conclude with Chen Jialing's poetic lotuses & birds and Zhang Guiming's colourful folk theme.



Liu Jian, born in Shanghai in 1961, graduated from the Art Academy of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army in 1983 and thereafter became a lecturer at the Chinese Painting Academy of Shanghai. He was the first runner-up in the National Calligraphy Competition in China. In 1990, he left China for Toronto, Canada, where he has been living ever since, marking a new stage of his artistic career. Evolving into an international abstract artist, he became more subjective, favouring unsystematic and vague composition, using oil on paper and on canvas. Over the years he has had numerous solo exhibitions in Europe, North America and Hong Kong. In this exhibition, Liu's Chinese ink paintings “Black Sunflower 1” and “Italian Journey, Toronto” (both 1995) which were shown in the highly attended 1st and 3rd International Ink Painting Biennial of Shenzhen in 1998, and 2002, will be exciting to witness again, especially his development from traditional Chinese brushstrokes to abstract expressionist gestural effects on the surface of the paintings.

Wang Dalin, born in Shanghai in 1949, has been a student of the “Modern Master in oil on rice paper” Kong Baiji since 1982 and two years later studied at the Shanghai Jiaotong University, majoring in western painting. Wang was the head of the Exhibition Department at the Shenzhen Art Museum in 1995 and was promoted to art curator in 2005, where he designed the interior of the museum. Gifted in the techniques of painting and sculpture, he established a personal style characterized by a superb sense of colour and a sophisticated approach to composition. This exhibition includes Wang's recent oil paintings and drawings. “Apple” has been his most famous subject since the “Square Apple” sculpture was shown at the exhibition “Selected Contemporary Sculpture from China” at the Oriental Plaza, Beijing in 2000.

展覽回顧

昂首闊步二十年: 再看「上海繪畫:蛻變中的中國藝術」

08月15日 - 09月21日  |  2006
冷宏劉堅王達麟
1987年, 藝倡畫廊是首間在香港舉行中國當代藝術展覽的專業畫廊, 特別為十四位上海藝術家假座香港藝術中心舉行「上海繪畫:蛻變中的中國藝術」展覽,呈現了當時的上海藝術在文化與經濟政策轉變下的全新面貌,參展者代表著中國藝壇的新一代,當時以劉堅26歲為最年輕,陳家冷50歲為最年長。時至今日,藝倡畫廊特別於8月15日至9月21日,再次展出其中十位畫廊畫家的水墨及油畫近作,回顧他們在這二十年來的藝術成就,讓觀者欣賞到他們從不順應潮流,堅持從心靈出發而逐漸改變過來的不同畫風。展覽分三部份:首先展出劉堅及王達麟的布上作品,接著有韓天衡、毛國倫、張健君的水墨畫、冷宏的風景畫、李山及章杰民的油畫,最後是陳家冷及張桂銘的新派花鳥水墨畫。

劉堅 生於1961年上海,於1983年於解放軍藝術學院畢業後,出任上海書畫院教授。1990年移居加拿大多倫多,從此開始了他的藝術生命的新一頁,晋身成為國際抽象畫家。他擅於運用布上或紙上油彩,表現模糊的視覺效果,風格別具特式,多年來在歐洲、北美和香港等地舉行過無數次的個展。是次除了展出劉堅的油畫近作,觀者還可再次欣賞到分別參加第一屆(1998)和第三屆(2002)深圳國際水墨畫雙年展的「墨色向日葵」與「意大利之旅」(同樣1995年作),寫意的筆墨,講究的用色,又表現出西方抽象表現主義的面貌。

王達麟 生於1949年上海,是自學成材的藝術家,天賦過人,對於色彩有一種特殊的悟性,除了油畫、水墨畫,他還創作雕塑,每天繪畫素描,付出很多的努力。在成名之後,1982年開始隨上海的「新銳巨匠」孔柏基鑽研繪畫,1984年進上海交通大學西畫系,1998年進北京中央美術學院研究院。1995年當上深圳美術館展覽部主管,2005年升為藝術形象設計主管,為深圳美術館的形象設計重新包裝。期間,他在中國、加拿大和美國多次發表新作,並被海內外的學院及私人收藏。自2000年他雕塑作品「方蘋果」於北京東方廣場的「中國現代塑精品展」展出後,「蘋果」成為最受好評的題材之一。