Past Exhibition

Yang Qi: A Profound Life

06 Dec - 20 Jan  |  2017 -2018
Yang Qi Catalogue
Alisan Fine Arts is proud to present a solo exhibition of Yang Qi, an important Chinese diaspora artist living in Germany. This will be his first solo exhibition in Hong Kong and will showcase around 30 works ranging from works on paper to canvas to ceramic. With a strong Chinese and German cultural background, he has developed a unique artistic concept of "Zen with German Expressionism" and applied this concept to his works. Yang merges Zen, a Chinese Buddhist philosophy that emphasizes insight into Buddha-nature and the personal expression of this insight, together with German Expressionism, a modernist movement from the 1920s that emphasizes emotion in the paintings and are particular about lines, colours, composition and technique. His ink paintings and ceramic works are generally composed of a few simple brushstrokes and colours but are full of philosophical thinking. As suggested by the title A Profound Life, the works in this exhibition reflect the artist's feeling and awe of life and its profundity.

Great Attention, one of the selected works of this exhibition, was featured in Yang's very successful solo exhibition "Homeland" at Shanghai Duolun Museum of Modern Art in 2013. Alisan Fine Arts has featured Yang's works at ArtHK in 2010 and Art Basel Hong Kong in 2015 and achieved outstanding results on both occasions.

Yang Qi was born in Wuhu, China in 1952. His unique concept “Zen with German Expressionism” is related to his strong Chinese and German cultural background. He obtained a Bachelor of Arts at Anhui Normal University in 1982. He moved to Germany after 1987 where he obtained Doctor of Art Philosophy at Heidelberg University in 1996. He currently lives and works in Düsseldorf, Germany and is a Visiting Professor of Free Art at the Academy of Fine Arts, Xi'an, China.

He has had more than 50 solo exhibitions in China, Germany, Switzerland, England, and The Netherlands since 1989 with his first solo exhibition in China at the National Art Museum of China, Beijing in 2005.

His works have been collected by various major museums and private collections, including British Museum, London; Linden Museum, Stuttgart; International Collection of Art SAP, Walldorf; Art Collection of Cial Bank, Zurich; Art Foundation La Roche, Basel; China Art Academy of Fine Arts, Hangzhou; Museum Zhu Jizhan, Shanghai; and Duolun Museum of Modern Art, Shanghai.

Alisan Fine Arts is one of the first professionally run galleries in Hong Kong and has been a pioneer in the field of Chinese contemporary art and New Ink Art. Particular focus is placed on promoting Chinese diaspora artist including Chao Chung-Hsiang, Chu Teh-Chun, Chuang Che, Walasse Ting and Zao Wou-Ki. Yang is among this admirable group of artists.

With this exhibition, we hope to introduce Yang's unique and creative "Zen with German Expressionism" works and his philosophy to a wider audience.

展覽回顧

楊起:浩瀚人生

12月06日 - 01月20日  |  2017 -2018
楊起 Catalogue
藝倡畫廊非常榮幸為一位重要的德國華人藝術家楊起舉辦個展。這將會是楊起在香港的首次個展,我們將會展出約三十件作品,包括紙上作品、畫布及陶瓷。憑藉深厚的中國及德國文化背景,他發展出獨特的「禪與德國表現主義」藝術概念,並將之應用在自己都作品上。禪,是中國佛教的哲學,講求內心和佛性的頓悟。而德國表現主義起源於1920年代,是着重表現藝術家的感情,講究色彩、線條和構圖的現代藝術運動。楊起很自然地把兩種哲學意念融合。他的水墨畫及陶瓷作品一般以輕鬆隨意的筆法,寥寥數筆,卻充滿哲學意味。就如今次的展名「浩瀚人生」,展出的作品將會表達出藝術家對人生及其深度的感覺及敬畏。

今次展覽中其中一個作品「極大的關注」,曾於2013年在上海多倫現代美術館為他舉行十分成功的個展「鄉土」中展出。藝倡畫廊於2010年香港國際藝術展及2015年香港巴塞爾藝術博覽會中展出楊起的作品,並均獲得傑出的成績。

楊起出生於1952年中國蕪湖。他提倡的「禪與德國表現主義」概念,意念創新獨特,與他接受中國和德國教育有着密切的關係。1982年畢業於中國安徽師範大學,獲學士學位。1987年移居德國後,於1996年獲海德堡大學藝術哲學博士學位。他現居住和工作在德國杜塞爾多夫,同時亦是 西安美術學院客座教授。

自1989年,他在中國、德國、瑞士、英格蘭及荷蘭舉行過五十多次個展,更於2005年在北京中國美術館舉行了在中國的首次個展。

他的作品獲多家主要博物館及私人藏家收藏,包括倫敦大英博物館、史特加連登博物館、 德國SAP國際藝術收藏、蘇黎世市茨阿爾銀行藝術收、巴塞爾羅氏集團藝術基金會、杭州中國美術學院、上海朱屺嶦美術館及上海多倫現代美術館 。

藝倡畫廊是香港成立最早的著名專業畫廊之一,亦成為向全球收藏家推介當代中國藝術和新水墨藝術的先驅。主要推海外華裔藝術家,包括趙春翔、朱德群、莊喆、丁雄泉及趙無極。而楊起則屬於這此傑出藝術家的一群。

透過這次展覽,我們希望向更多人介紹楊起獨一無二而有創意的「禪與德國表現主義」作品及其哲學理念。