Current Exhibition

Enriching Steles: Ink Art by Lee Chun-yi

14 Nov - 09 Jan  |  2019 -2020
Lee Chun-yi Catalogue
Opening Week  |  Central Gallery
Introduction
Artist talk: 18, Monday, 6-7pm
Opening reception: 19, Tuesday, 6-8pm
In the presence of the artist
Art Gallery Night: 21, Thursday, 6-8pm
Exhibition runs 14 November 2019 - 9 January 2020
Catalogue available

In our first solo exhibition for international ink artist Lee Chun-yi, Alisan Fine Arts will present a recent selection of his traditionally inspired landscapes and scholar rocks created by a self-made stamping technique. This exhibition draws particular attention to the classical elements of Lee's practice, including ink rubbing, calligraphy, carving, and printing, and the fusion of these timeless elements into a revolutionary style often interpreted as photorealist, and universally as contemporary.

Born in Kaohsiung, Taiwan in 1965, Lee Chun-yi moved to Hong Kong at the age of five. He studied painting under acclaimed ink master Liu Kuo-sung, a founder of the Fifth Moon Group and continuing leader in the Chinese contemporary ink movement, at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Lee later completed a master's degree in art at Tunghai, University, Taiwan in 1997, before pursuing doctoral studies in Chinese Art History at Arizona State University in the United States, and eventually returning to Taiwan to develop his artistic practice.

Central to the trajectory of both Lee's career and revolutionary style is the influence of Liu Kuo-sung, who is famed for reforming ink painting with particular regard to eliminating the use of the brush and using unconventional brushwork and methods. It was Liu Kuo-sung who inspired Lee Chun-yi to shift his studies from biochemical science to art, and as his star pupil, Lee Chun-yi would advance the brush and ink revolution with his own inventive methods and reinterpretations of Chinese ink paintings.

Before specialising in contemporary Chinese ink painting, Lee first mastered traditional brush as well as Western technique. Cultivating a lifelong interest in the stone steles carved during the Early Han period (AD 25-220), Lee organically began to develop a system for recreating the effect of rubbings made using these ancient communicative tools. The more common steles were commemorative and featured text as opposed to images, scored in a grid-like pattern, that would eventually come to influence the woodblock printing process. Experimenting with these aesthetics, Lee departed from the conventional use of a brush and focused his art on a self-made stamp-based method of applying calligraphy through the use of Chinese seals and ink rubbings. Lee carves Chinese characters into pieces of cork and softwood to form chops, and then stamps them repetitively on the paper to form a semi-photographic image along systematic lines. Literally building up a visual composition through words, his ink paintings function as symbolic poems, with the strength of the stamp indicating the intended tone of expression. The finish to the resulting compositions is contemporary, while steeped in references to Yuan and Ming Dynasty pictorial landscapes.

The text chosen by Lee often reflects his spiritualty and reinforces the chant-like repetition of the stamping itself. In recent years, Lee has overlaid scenery from coastal areas of Taiwan upon text from Buddhist scripture. For example, the 2018 works Heart Shore, Vaira Shore and Paramita Shore draw from the Buddhist Sutras, whose themes appear frequently in his art, as do iconic literati symbols such as pine trees and scholarly rocks. Through these many ancient references, Lee embodies his art with the romance of the past. The infusion of Lee's commentary on the current state of our world is subtly made through the placement of his seals and their chosen carvings. His splendid blooming Dahlia for example, is an amalgam of logos from popular brands, pointing to the consumerist messages nurturing China's youth culture.

Alisan Fine Arts formerly featured Lee Chun-yi in the two-part calligraphy show The Voice of the Brush highlighting the evolution of calligraphy within contemporary ink painting and at Hong Kong's Ink Asia art fair in October 2019. On this special occasion, Lee Chunyi and Liu Kuo-sung, held a dialogue on the topic of The Cultural Inheritance of Contemporary Ink Art.

當前展覽

豐碑:李君毅的水墨藝術

11月14日 - 01月09日  |  2019 -2020
李君毅 Catalogue
開幕週  |  2019年11月18日 -23日  |  中環展覽空間
簡介
藝術家講座:18日(星期二) 下午6-7時
開幕禮:19日(星期二)下午6-8時
藝術家將出席開幕禮
香港畫廊夜:21日(星期四)下午6-8時
展期:2019年11月14日至2020年1月9日
展覽畫冊同時出版

藝倡畫廊首次為台灣水墨畫家李君毅舉辦個展,我們將展示李氏一系列以傳統為靈感、通過獨特的壓印和拓印法而創作的山水和雅石精選近作。這次展覽特別關注李氏參考傳統而創作的佳作,包括山水、書法、雕刻和詩詞,他將這些永恆的元素以照相寫實主義融合一起,革命性的藝術風格獲一致公認為當代。

李君毅於1965年出生於台灣高雄,五歲移居香港。他在香港中文大學研習繪畫,師承著名水墨大師劉國松(五月畫會創始人、水墨畫運動接班人)。1997年李氏於台灣東海大學獲藝術碩士學位,然後在美國亞利桑那州立大學攻讀中國藝術史博士學位,其後返回台灣發展他的藝術事業。

李君毅的藝術職業生涯和革命性的發展歷程,主要是受劉國松的影響。劉國松以改革水墨畫著稱,特別提倡棄筆和不再遵循傳統技法。正是劉國松啟發了李君毅,讓他從研究生化科學轉向藝術。作為劉國松的愛徒,李氏通過他自創的技法重新詮釋中國水墨畫,延續推動筆墨的革命。

在全身投入當代水墨藝術之前,李氏曾研習傳統筆墨和西方技法,培養出對漢初(公元25-220年)雕刻石碑的終生興趣。李氏開始有機地自創一種方法,來重現這種古代溝通和記錄工具的拓印效果。較常見的石碑是紀念性的文字而不帶有圖像,文字以網格排列,有如木刻印刷工藝。在鑽研這些美學之過程,李氏脫離了傳統的筆墨,將藝術重點放在自創的壓印方法上,即通過以文字為主的形式使用中國圖章和墨跡擦拭來創作。李氏將漢字刻在水松和軟木製成印章,然後在紙上反複蓋印或拓印,形成格子組成的半攝影圖像。而壓印力度的大小呈現了水墨深淺的不同調子,從而建構出充滿詩意的視覺效果。最終的完成品構圖是當代的,又同時浸淫於元代和明代的山水畫意境之中。

李氏選擇的文字通常反映出他的精神面貌,加強了那種有如低吟聲般輕輕蓋印的重複性。近年李氏的作品中,出現台灣沿海地區的風景上蓋上佛教經文。例如2018年的「心岸」、「金剛岸」和「波羅岸」分別取材於佛教的《心經》和《金剛經》,經常出現在他畫作中的主題還有在文人畫具標誌性的松樹和雅石。通過這些眾多的古代參考文獻,李氏以過去的浪漫來體現他的藝術。通過蓋印和拓印,巧妙地表達了李氏對世界現狀的評論。例如他的燦爛盛開的大麗花(如圖)是與流行品牌標誌結合而成的作品,指出了消費主義正在培育中國青年文化的社會現象。

藝倡畫廊曾在「筆墨傳情第二部份」展出李君毅的畫作,該展覽着重強調當代水墨藝術之中書法的演變,繼而今年10月在香港「水墨藝博」亦有展出他的作品,並特別安排了一場劉國松與李君毅的對話,題為「當代水墨藝術的文化傳承」。