Upcoming Exhibition

In Conversation—Sam Francis and Walasse Ting: Shared Ideas and Influences

14 Apr - 14 Apr  |  2021
Francis SamTing Walasse
Online event  |  Wednesday, 14 April 2021, 12:00pm (Hong Kong Time) 21:00 (PST)/00:00 (EST)
Introduction
Register:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_0H3-OKZiRR-5Gaf0vTFeBw

Alisan Fine Arts is pleased to invite you to join us in a conversation with Debra Burchett-Lere, Director of the Sam Francis Foundation as well as John Seed, Board member of the Sam Francis Foundation. Together with gallery director, Daphne King they will talk about the life and art of celebrated American abstract painter Sam Francis and Chinese Diaspora artist Walasse Ting with a focus on their life long relationship as well as their influences on each other’s work.

This event is held on the occasion of the gallery’s current exhibition Celebrating a Friendship: Walasse Ting & Sam Francis which is on view until April 30 at our Central Gallery. Organised together with the Walasse Ting Estate and in cooperation with the Sam Francis Foundation, the exhibition juxtaposes nine action paintings by Sam Francis with nine brush paintings by Walasse Ting. Also on display are archival material as well as the iconic book 1 Cent Life, conceived by Ting and edited by Francis. The unbound folio includes the works of 28 well-known artists such as Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, Claes Oldenburg and Tom Wesselmann.

Speakers:

Debra Burchett-Lere
Sam Francis Foundation Director
Debra Burchett-Lere brings a range of professional international art-world experiences as an author, curator, and executive director of the artist-endowed Sam Francis Foundation, California. Her background includes key positions at the fine-art limited editions print studio Gemini G.E.L. and the Los Angeles Institute of Contemporary Art. For over twenty-five years, Debra has collaborated on museum exhibitions including projects with the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles; Sotheby’s, New York; the Jeu De Paume, Paris; Kunsthalle-der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Bonn; Fundacio Caja de Madrid.
She has authored books and catalogues including publications by the Getty Museum Conservation Institute, Los Angeles and the University of California, Berkeley.

John Seed
Sam Francis Foundation Board member
John Seed is a Professor Emeritus of Art and Art History at Mount San Jacinto College. He has written about art and artists for Arts of Asia, Harvard Magazine, the Huffington Post and Hyperallergic.com. Since 2013 Seed has served on the board of the Sam Francis Foundation, which sponsored his research on the friendship of Sam Francis and Walasse Ting.

Moderator: Daphne King, Gallery Director

即將展出

對話—山姆·弗朗西斯和丁雄泉: 共同的思想和影響

04月14日 - 04月14日  |  2021
山姆·弗朗西斯丁雄泉
線上講座  |  2021年4月14日 星期三 中午12時(香港時間) 21 : 00(太平洋時間)/ 00 : 00(美國東部時間)
簡介
註冊: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_0H3-OKZiRR-5Gaf0vTFeBw

藝倡畫廊誠意邀請您加入我們與山姆·弗朗西斯基金會董事黛布拉·伯切特-萊雷 (Debra Burchett-Lere)以及山姆·弗朗西斯基金會董事會成員約翰·錫德 (John Seed) 的線上對話。他們將與藝倡畫廊主持人金昌玲一起談論著名美國抽象畫家山姆·弗朗西斯和海外華裔藝術家丁雄泉的生平和藝術,重點關注他們之間的終身友誼以及對彼此作品的影響。

此次活動為配合畫廊當前展覽 「友誼之歌:丁雄泉和山姆·弗朗西斯」而舉行,展覽於我們的中環空間一直持續至4月30日。 展覽與丁雄泉作品管理人和山姆·弗朗西斯基金會合作,將山姆·弗朗西斯的9張繪畫與版畫,以及丁雄泉的9張紙上作品並列。還展出一些檔案資料和由丁氏構思、由弗朗西斯編輯的標誌性詩集《一仙人生》,其中包括28位著名藝術家的作品,如安迪·華荷、羅伊·里奇特斯坦、克萊斯·奧登伯格和湯姆·韋塞爾曼。

講者:

黛布拉·伯切特-萊雷
山姆·弗朗西斯基金會董事
黛布拉·伯切特-萊雷是作家、策展人,和擔任加州山姆·弗朗西斯基金會執行董事,在國際藝術界積累了豐富的經驗。亦曾在版畫工作室Gemini G.E.L. 和洛杉磯當代藝術學院擔任重要職務。二十五年來,黛布拉還協作多個美術館展覽,包括與洛杉磯當代藝術博物館、紐約蘇富比、巴黎國立網球場現代美術館、波恩美術館、馬德里菲亞達基金會。她撰寫的著作和圖錄包括洛杉磯蓋蒂博物館文物保護研究所和加州大學伯克利分校的出版物。

約翰·錫德
山姆·弗朗西斯基金會董事會成員
約翰·錫德是加州聖哈辛託山學院的藝術與藝術史榮譽教授。他曾為《亞洲藝術》、《哈佛雜誌》、《赫芬頓郵報》和Hyperallergic.com撰寫有關藝術和藝術家的文章。自2013年開始擔任山姆·弗朗西斯基金會的董事會成員,一直對山姆·弗朗西斯和丁雄泉的友誼進行研究。

講座主持:金昌玲,藝倡畫廊主持人