Past Exhibition

Tracing the Brush: Transformed Text — Selected works from Ink Asia

20 Jan - 13 Feb  |  2016
Chu ChuFung Ming-chipGu GanLuo Qi Verdier FabienneWang DonglingWang TiandeWei LigangYang Jiechang
To celebrate the inauguration of Ink Asia, Alisan Fine Arts is pleased to present “Tracing the Brush: Transformed Text”, a curated selection of calligraphic works by Chu Chu, Fabienne Verdier, Fung Ming-chip, Gu Gan, Wang Dongling, Wang Tiande, Wei Ligang and Yang Jiechang. In choosing the theme for this new art fair, Director Daphne King Yao seeks to examine position of calligraphy in Chinese contemporary ink painting and which trends have gained recognition.

Recognized as an art form in the first century, Chinese calligraphy has a long and hallowed tradition serving as an integral part of art and society. The elevated status and basis of calligraphy is attributed to its functional purpose: as a tool in the formation and promulgation of ideas through written characters. Scholars engraved works with elegiac poems in caoshu script (cursive script), while court scribes in neat lishu script recorded their emperor’s edicts and codified their authority. However as Maxwell K. Hearn, Douglas Dillon Chairman of the Department of Asian Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, notes, “calligraphy possesses an intrinsically graphic nature that exists independently of its lexical function.”

Between these artists exist the traces of a tradition and civilization, leaving behind the tangible signs of feelings and expressions on paper. While some favour a complete break away from the rigorous and rigid rules they believe to constrain traditional calligraphy, others have recognized that our concept of tradition is ever changing. So they seek a new format, a new expressive modality, creating works that reify and deconstruct calligraphy, and ultimately transforming this text.

展覽回顧

蛻變 — 新書法藝術 水墨藝博精選作品

01月20日 - 02月13日  |  2016
儲楚馮明秋古干洛齊法比恩 • 維迪爾王冬齡王天德魏立剛楊詰蒼
香港「首屆水墨藝博」的舉行是香港藝壇的盛事。藝倡畫廊十分榮幸參與其中,舉辦「蛻變-新的書法藝術」的聯展,展出九位藝術家的精選書法作品,包括王冬齡、王天德、馮明秋、古干、魏立剛、楊詰蒼、儲楚、法比恩.維迪爾和洛齊。藝倡畫廊主持人姚金昌玲女士更為這個全新的藝術博覽會,選取了近年備受關注的書法藝術作為展覽題目,檢視書法在中國當代藝壇中所佔的位置。

書法,自漢代以來,一直被視為中國藝術的精粹之一,無論在社會或藝術上,都具有極重要的位置。 書法的地位如此崇高,相信與它的功能-宮廷頒布命令有關。文人喜歡在畫上題字,多數上行書,強調詩情畫意,而皇帝頒布命令時,則用上工整的隸書,以顯示權力。紐約大都會藝術博物館亞洲藝術部主席何慕文曾認為:「撇開詞語的功能,書法本身擁有其獨立的藝術美感。」

這些藝術家在傳統與現代文明之間,在紙上留下水墨印記,表達了豐富的情感。他們之中,有完全打破傳統書法的法則,有亦一直在傳統中求變。總言而之,他們都在追尋一種新的表達方式,重新演繹書法藝術。